Simple Connection Exception issue (I hope)

Mar 10, 2012 at 3:03 PM

Hi everyone,

I am relatively new to using SSH in any maner.  But I have recently been using the Tamir SSH stuff and it was easy enough.  But it lacked some features I was looking for.  Then I got turned on to this library and by looking at some of the code samples look like more of what I want/need.   Anyway I have been using the before mentioned library just fine with a supplied host/dns , user and password combination and no private/public keys.  Also when using putty or filezilla i only supply password and user name.

So I am wondering if I missed something when I tried to use this library.   I do this in code

PasswordConnectionInfo

p

assinfo = new PasswordConnectionInfo host, user, password); new SftpClient(passinfo);

and then I get the following error:

An unhandled exception of type 'Renci.SshNet.Common.SshAuthenticationException' occurred in Renci.SshNet.dll

Additional information: No suitable authentication method found to complete authentication.

Can anyone please help me understand what I have done wrong or am missing?

Thanks

Darryl

sftpClient =

sftpClient.connect();

Coordinator
Mar 10, 2012 at 3:10 PM

Hi,

Well, in theory this error can occur when you trying to connect to ssh server using authentication method that it does not support.

For example, if SSH supports only keyboard interactive but you using password you will get this exception.

Or when it support private key and host and you using password, again, will get the same exception.

What server you trying to connect to?

Do you manage to connect to there using putty? if so I bet you provide username/password combination.

In some cases I saw that this method is confused with keyboard-interactive and putty make it seamless even so its different method.

I would suggest to try different authentication methods and see if they work, especially KeyboardInteractive one.

Hope it helps.

Thanks,

Oleg